The strong breeze slowed riders in the Welsh open 100 miles Championship held on roads between Abergavenny and Monmouth, so while times were good, the super fast performances hoped for were not achieved on what is probably the fastest 100 course ever used in Wales. The winner was Dave Dickerson Lukracing.net in 4h.3m.01s. 2nd Sean Childs RN & RMCC 4h.4m.09s, Last year champion Colin Wallace Port Talbot Wh. was 3rd in 4h.9m.30s. However it must have been some consolation that he led fellow club members Peter Jones 4-40-12 and Clare Butler 5-01-19 to take the team title for Port Talbot. 1st Lady Ann Woolridge Walsall RC 4-48-15. Only 40 out of an entry of 77 completed the course In the last, for this year, of Abertillery Wheeler's Tuesday evening 25 miles time trials on the course from Pandy to Raglan, Tony Hudson clocked 59m.45s. his second time under the hour this season, to win by a large margin. Ross Phillips 1-2-26, Ian Davies 1-2-30, Gareth Chislett 1-5-32, Martin Latewood 1-6-04, Owen Pocock 1-13-49.

Two days later in the latest of Abertillery Wheeler's weekly 10 miles time trials on the circuit course between Hafodrynys and Pontypool, Tony Hudson was again the winner by a considerable margin when he recorded 24m.43s. Gareth Chislett 27-02, Martin Latewood 27-11, Wally Ham 28-17, Dave Evans 29-05, Jeff Rees 29-54, Owen Pocock 31-37. Next Saturday Abertillery Wheelers will promote the closing event of the Welsh CA Magic Dragon Time Trial Series, on a 30 miles course comprised of two circuits between Abergavenny and Raglan. There are some fast riders among the 105 entered, with a considerable number from English clubs, but if any can beat the record of 1h.3m.10s. set by Matthew Postle in 1998 will remain to be seen.